Skip links and keyboard navigation

Health alert: Novel coronavirus (COVID-19)

Warning message

Submissions for this form are closed.

PAH Magnet Champion of the Year Award 2021


The aim of this award is to recognise a nurse who has demonstrated outstanding contribution/s in one of the Magnet components of Transformational Leadership; Structural Empowerment; Exemplary Professional Practice; and New Knowledge, Innovations and Improvement.


To be eligible the applicant/s must consist of a:


Submit a maximum of 500 words which addresses the following:

  • Outline which component of the Magnet Model is primarily addressed.
  • Identify what contribution/s have been made under the designated Magnet component.
  • Explain how the contribution exemplify excellence in the designated Magnet Model component.
  • Outline the resulting outcomes and impact at the PAH, Metro South Health Service, State, national and/or international level.

Nomination process

An individual is able to self-nominate or be nominated by colleagues for this award. Please nominate by completing the online nomination form below. The Centre of Nursing Excellence (CNE) is accountable for coordinating this award.


  • Submissions open: Friday, 12 March 2021
  • Submissions close: Friday, 16 April 2021 (extended)

Decision making governance process

Nominations will be judged by a panel that consists of nursing executive; interprofessional colleague; and a consumer representative from the PAH Consumer Consultative Committee. Each member will have equal voting rights, although in the event of a conflict of interest (i.e. nominee is from respective work unit) these rights will be rescinded. Following review of the applicants, the panel will declare any conflicts of interest prior to the voting process taking place. The panel will utilise a Likert scale from ‘Strongly Agree that Applicant Meets Criteria to Strongly Disagree that Applicant Meets Criteria’ to assist in determining the top 5 nominations and recommend a winner of the award. The top 3 nominations and recommended winner will be tabled at the Nursing Director/Assistant Director of Nursing (ND/ADON) Committee Meeting. The ND/ADON committee will make the final decision. The top 3 teams will be notified and invited to the award presentation for the announcement of the award winner.

Please note: The education bursary will be equally shared amongst the recipients.

Reward and recognition

  • $1,000 Education Bursary funded by Nurse Practice Development Unit.
  • A Magnet Nursing Excellence Badge and Certificate of Recognition will be presented on International Nurses Day.
  • Photo and award details included within the EDNS Newsletter and PAH Nursing Services Annual Review.


  • Bernadette Clarke, Magnet CNC
  • Phone: (07) 3176 2892

Nominations have now closed.

Last updated 19 April 2021
Last reviewed 11 March 2021