Skip links and keyboard navigation

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee assists the Hospital and Health Board in overseeing the financial position of the health service.

Image of Peter Dowling AM

Mr Peter Dowling AM

Start date: 
June 2012

Peter Dowling is an accountant and company director. He is a Fellow of CPA Australia and The Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and a Fellow of The Australian Institute of Company Directors. He was formerly a Partner with international accounting firm Ernst & Young. He is a Centenary of Federation Medal recipient and was made a Member of the Order of Australia in 2007 for services to accountancy and the community.

Peter has a number of other board and audit and risk committee appointments.

He is a Director of CUA and CUA Health, CPA Australia, Q-COMP, Lexon Insurance, Superior Coal Ltd, the Cooperative Research Centre for Infrastructure and Engineering Asset Management among others. He is the Chair of the Sunshine Coast Regional Council's Audit and Risk Committee, the Queensland Department of Transport and Main Road's Audit and Risk Committee and the Queensland Crime and Misconduct Commission's Audit Committee. Peter is also the Queensland Honorary Consul for Botswana.

Images of Professor John Prins

Professor John Prins

Commitee member
Start date: 
June 2012

Professor John Prins is an active clinician-scientist, a key opinion leader in diabetes and endocrinology in Australia and sits on numerous national and international scientific, clinical and educational committees and boards for the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC), non-government organisations and industry.

John undertook his clinical training in endocrinology in Brisbane and then completed a PhD in adipose tissue biology at the University of Queensland (UQ).

His first post-doctoral research appointment was at the University of Cambridge, UK, based at Addenbrooke's Hospital. He returned to Brisbane in 1998 after being awarded a Welcome International Senior Research Fellowship.

In 2004 he was Founder/Director of the UQ Centre for Diabetes and Endocrine Research, one of the most prominent and successful groups on the Princess Alexandra Hospital campus, which merged with the UQ Centre for Immunology and Cancer Research (CICR) in January 2007 to form the Diamantina Institute.

As Chair of the Centre of Health Research on the Princess Alexandra Hospital campus from 2005 to 2009, his role involved coordinating the campus-wide research strategy, fostering research, facilitating the recruitment of researchers to the campus and integration of research and clinical activities.

In 2009 John was appointed CEO/Director of the Mater Medical Research Institute.

John has substantial commercialisation experience, holds two international patents and was founder and scientific director of a spin-out biotech company-Adipogen Pty Ltd.

John is actively involved in undergraduate and post-graduate teaching and training and has ongoing research interests in obesity and diabetes.

Image of Margo MacGillivray

Ms Margo MacGillivray

Committee member
Start date: 
June 2012

Margo MacGillivray has practiced as a commercial lawyer for more than 25 years. During that time, she has been a partner of a premier Australian law firm, and General Counsel for large, multi-national entities. Margo has a particular focus on corporate governance and enterprisewide risk management.

She has also been a member of the Queensland Executive of the Australian Corporate Lawyers Association.

Margo has also been a member and Deputy President of the Queensland Parole Boards. These were senior government positions requiring high level decision making and risk management.

Margo holds a Bachelor of Laws (Hons) and Bachelor of Arts. She is also a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Image of Lorraine Martin AO

Ms Lorraine Martin AO

Committee member
Start date: 
June 2012

Ms Lorraine Martin is a highly successful corporate business woman, experienced board member and outstanding community leader. She was recognised
in the 1994 Australia Day Honours List when she was awarded an Order of Australia (AO) for service to business and commerce, particularly in the field of education and training. She is also the former National President of Women Chiefs of Enterprises-International and Queensland President of the Australia Brunei Business Council.

Lorraine established Lorraine Martin College in 1976, which comprised vocational training and personnel agency services. In 1987, she established Queensland’s first private English language centre. The group merged with Education and Training Australia in 1996 and grew to include campuses in Brisbane, Cairns, Gold Coast and Sydney. The organisation is now known as Martin College.

Lorraine is a highly experienced board member, having served on numerous public and private sector boards in areas including health, education and community services, including: Mater Hospital Trust; Prince Charles Hospital Foundation; Mindcare (Mental Health Foundation); State Training Council (Queensland); Austrade; Employment Services Regulatory Authority; Bond University School of Business; Queensland State Chamber of Commerce and Industry; Office of Economic Development for the City of Brisbane; Australian Institute of Company Directors; Australian President of Women Chiefs of Enterprises International.

Last updated 16 May 2015